The first ever Ardal Northern league cuo final was played on May 7th. at Penycae between Caersws and Mold Alex with Caersws scoring the only goal of the game through Glynn Coney

May 2022 Chirk AAA and Mold Alex become the first clubs to win the Ardal Northeast and Ardal Northwest leagues

April 2022 Mold Alex of the Lack Stock Ardal Northwest win the FAW Amatuer Trophy

August 2021 Josh Astley of Llanfair United scored seven goals in an away game at Kerry

The Ardal Northern leagues finally got under  way on July 30th 2021 with Berriew defeating Rhos Aelwyd in the first ever league game

In March 2021 Montgomery Town informed the league that they were resigning from the Ardal North East league. Due to FAW pyramid regulationa an announcment on who would replace them would not be made until June

2020/21 SEASON (The first)
The new Ardal Northern leagues never got going due to the CORVID 19 virus. Various start dates were considered but due to government restrictions due the virus the league was finally cancelled in January 2021

Ardal Northern is sponsored by Lock Stock Self Storage. "Lock Stock have a tradition of supporting local football across North and Mid Wales," said Shon Powell, Director of Lock Stock Self Storage. "We are glad to continue that by sponsoring the new Ardal NW and Ardal NE divisions. This level of football is the base that provides the strength of the game in Wales and as a company that has a presence across the region we know the importance of these clubs to their communities and are proud to continue that support."

On July 28th. 2020  The FAW announced in that the new leagues would be called The Ardal Leagues with Lock Stock the official sponsors of the Northern leagues which would be knows as the Lock Stock Ardal leagues, the two leagues being the Lock Stock Ardal North East and Lock Stock Ardal North West

As part of the FAW’s “2020 vision and strategic plan for Welsh football”, the FAW committed to the following strategic objective.

“Stronger clubs operating at levels 1 and 2 following a successful restructure of the FAW Pyramid and a greater number of clubs attaining the National Licence.”

A Pyramid Review was established to ensure that the Association addressed this key objective for the domestic game in Wales.

The FAW’s National Game Board (NGB), now the National League board (NLB) established a Working Group to review the Welsh Football Domestic Pyramid structure in September 2014.

Following a review of Tier 1, where it was agreed that no structural changes would be recommended, the Working Group identified one weakness being the magnitude of the step up from Tier 2 to Tier 1 and agreed the following.

-      To implement a standard Tier 2 Ground Criteria for implementation in April 2017 (which was latterly deferred until April 2018). This is aimed at improving facilities at Tier 2 and to reduce the gap between the standard facilities at Tiers 1 and 2

The Working Group then focused on the structure of the Pyramid from Tiers 2 down and developed the terms of reference for a study, which covered some of the following key areas during a series of meetings between April and September 2017:

-       Strengths and limitations of the existing structure

-       Potential new structure

The recommendations of the Working Group were shared with the FAW Community Game Board, National Game Board, International Game Board and the FAW ExCo before being discussed and approved by the FAW Council in October 2017, by a strong majority vote.

The agreed new structure can be seen below


The following was then agreed for the new tier three leagues

  • Ground criteria
  • Rules

The new tier three leagues would commence in season 2020/21 and clubs had until April 30th, 2020 to reach the required ground criteria. This was extended to the Coronas virus

The Clubs who applied for the criteria (closing date December 31st. 2019) and to be considered for the new leagues were:

Mid Wales League


Welsh Alliance


Welsh National



Blaenau Amateurs


Brickfield Rangers

Bow Street


Bodedern Athletic





Denbigh Town


Cefn Albion 





Chirk AAA



Holyhead Hotspur


Holywell Town

Four Crosses


Llandudno Albion


Llay Welfare



Llanrwst United





Mynydd Llandegai


Mold Alex

Llandrindod Wells


Nantlle Vale







Queens Park

Montgomery Town


St Asaph City


Rhos Aelwyd

Radnor Valley


Barmouth & Dyffryn



Tywyn Bryncrug


Llandudno Amateurs



Welshpool Town


CPD Llanefydd


Saltney Town



Y Felinheli


Lex XI





Llangollen Town



Penmaenmawr Pheonix


Newbridge on Wye






Borth United


After a series of applications and interviews by the FAW the officers to administer the leagues on behalf of the FAW were appointed in 2019

A sponsorship deal was agreed with Lock Stock self storage and the two new FAW Northern league would be branded as - Lock Stock Ardal North East and Lock Stock Ardal North West


Blaenau Am.   Berriew
Brickfield   Bow Street
Brymbo   Caersws
Denbigh Town   Carno
Llandudno Albion   Cefn Albion
Llanrwst   Chirk AAA
Llanuwchllyn   Corwen
Llay Welfare   Four Crosses
Mold Alex   Kerry
Nantle Vale   Llanfair United
Porthmadog   Machynllech
Rhostyllen   Montgomery
Rhydymwyn   Penparcau
Saltney   Penycae
St Asaph   Rhos Aelwyd
Y Fellinheli   Welshpool

Copyright © 2021 ARDAL NORTHERN LEAGUES. Disclaimer & Privacy
The views on this site are not always those of the league or FAW